How to install Alacritty on X11 without building from source

So I want to install a terminal emulator called Alacritty on Ubuntu 20.04 LTS. Their github release page is mostly showing wayland based versions.

I found two options.

  1. I found a PPA to install Alacritty. The only problem is that there is no mention of the PPA in their readme or in the installation instruction. How can I find if the PPA is indeed maintained by the team. I don’t think it is a good idea to add random PPAs.
  2. They did mention that I can use cargo to directly install Alacritty. Now I have never used javascript or rust. If I install Alacritty with cargo, do I still get app in all applications list? I amk afraid that it won’t automatically update with sudo apt update.

I am also avoiding building from source. Is the PPA trustable?

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.